Sign in with
Your question

[HELP]Fresh installed XP Professional, Updates?

Last response: in Windows XP
December 26, 2012 5:32:20 PM

I had to re install xp on my friends old laptop because it began blue screening after i cleaned some viruses, One took out some drivers and I was unable to fix the issue.

Anyways I gave it back to him and he found that he had no Internet Explorer ( I thought it would be included in the installation ) anyways I'm trying to install IE 8 but I kept getting an error. I discovered that i needed what is called the Service Pack 3, but I get an error saying that it's not a valid Win32 application whenever I try to run it. I started learning computers in Vista and now 7 so XP is mostly unknown to me so please dont leave out any details. Any advice is much appreciated.
December 26, 2012 6:37:35 PM

I would say it sounds like something may have gone sideways already. A "virgin" XP install cannot be connected to the Internet for more than a few seconds before it will be compromised, so you need to plan ahead a little.

Start by downloading the standalone SP2: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id...
and then SP3: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id... installers. Burn them to a CD or DVD.

When you install XP again, this time make sure NOT to connect it to the Internet. Once the initial install is done, install SP2 from the DVD or whatever you stored that file on, then SP3. It would also be a good idea to have an AV program on that DVD, and maybe the drivers needed. After you get all of those things installed, you can connect to the Internet, where your first stop should be the Windows Update site to get several years worth of additional updates. Make sure every time you reboot to go back to the Windows Update site to see if there are more updates listed. When you finally get to zero, you're done.
m
l
December 26, 2012 7:58:05 PM

Quote: