My first build and the issues i'm facing

daevanam

Distinguished
Mar 31, 2010
Hey,

I've pretty much put all the parts together and the system seems to be running fine, but im slowly picking up one or two issues along the way.

I've plugged in my GFX card and my system is showing that is only running at x8 when it should be running at x16. Any ideas on what the issue could be ?

My CPU is idling at quite a high temp and i have a Coolermaster Hyper Tx3 on my CPU. Any ideas on how to bring that core temp down?

My HDDs are running really slow at the moment. I know that HDDs are just naturally slow but any way of speeding it up?

Thanks for your input

raygungothic

Distinguished
Apr 6, 2010
It's a bit difficult to tell anything about the x8/x16 issue without knowing anything about your motherboard, its slots, or if anything else is plugged in... more detail might help there.

If you have a powerful, well installed heatsink on your CPU and it's still hot - you might need better case airflow. If you have a howling gale blowing through your case and the CPU is still hot - go back and look at the CPU sink again. Or, alternatively, your idea of a "high idle temp" might need to be relaxed, depending on your CPU type.

fastx21

Distinguished
Feb 15, 2010
What did you mean by your HDD is running slow? Slow as in you're used to SSD speed so it feels slow?

Also we don't know if you plugged in your GFXs card into the 2nd slot or if your bios has an 8x 8x mode?... Please put up more details.

daevanam

Distinguished
Mar 31, 2010
Thanks alot. Sorry about the lack of detail. Was in abit of a hurry.

My system and setup:
AMD Phenom X4 965 125w revised edition
Asus M4A89GTD Pro
1 TB 7200RMP HDD
500GB 7200RMP HDD
ATI 5850
Cosair 650w PSU
Zalman 7 Chassis

Its very slow when it comes to loading simple things. But i've discovered that could be an issue with my OS at the moment.