Computer Won't Boot - Dead GPU?

eddk

Distinguished
Mar 23, 2010
Hi, this is my first post on tomshardware, I'm new to graphics cards as well. Recently my computer began having crazy artifacts everywhere. When I'm booting up the artifacts obscure the Dell logo and other text. "Boot from disk" ends up looking like "B t fr m D k"

I'm a casual gamer, this happened shortly after an update. Now my computer will not boot but will go to a black screen and stay there until I manually restart it. :( I can boot in Safe Mode but only with artifacts everywhere. I couldn't reinstall any drivers because the text on my monitor was so obscured.
I have a Dell inspiron 530 desktop
Windows Vista 32 bit installed.
Also 3gb ram.
My old graphics card is a Nvidia Geforce 8300. I've had the computer + GPU for 2-3 years. There is lots of dust in the case (that I dont know how to remove..)

Will replacing my graphics card with say, geforce 8500 or 8400, fix my problem? I don't need anything fancy, just something that will allow me to use my computer.
Will this card be compatible with my computer?
http://www.compuvest.com/Desc.jsp?iid=1156199

I've already done start up repair, system restore, and I've reseated my graphics card, nothing worked.

Right now I'm thinking I'll buy the linked card, switch it out, try to install the drivers with the included CD, and hope it works?

Thanks Everyone.

If you have integrated graphics, try that first and see if you still get the artifacts. Or see if you can borrow a card from a friend to test with. This will eliminate the GPU as the problem if unsuccessful. If successful, then you know it's the card and can replace.

Another problem could be excessive heat caused by the dust. With your computer on and idle, run HWmonitor (if you can get the computer to work well enough) and post the temperatures you see.