Need some advice on a new motherboard

berlin88

Distinguished
Oct 23, 2009
I currently have an Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe and an AMD AM2 Athlon 64x2 4200+ and am looking at upgrading to a new CPU / Motherboard. My current board and CPU are from August 2006, and its time for an upgrade.

I will be upgrading to either the AMD AM3 Phenom II Quad Core 955, 965 or the new 6 core processor. For the video card, I will be sticking with my EVGA 9800GTX+, which I have had since early 2009.

Which AMD friendly boards / brands are currently the best options for Nvidia users? Are they still making SLI compatible boards? I have never done SLI before, but I have always gotten SLI compatible boards in case I ever got around to getting a 2nd Nvidia GPU. In the past I have used both Asus and MSI boards, but have yet to try any of the other manufacturers.

Thanks in advance to anyone who is able to help me.

EDIT: I should also point out that I have an old Augidy 2 ZS Gamer sound card that I still use (got it June 2004), so either the new board would need to support my audio card, or have decent on board Audio. My speaker setup is old set of Logitech Z-640 Speakers.

berlin88

Distinguished
Oct 23, 2009

Thanks for the link. Both the MSI and Asus board would meet my current needs and are at a reasonable price.

With that said, should I be concerned by the fact Nvidia has stopped making new chip sets? Will the supply of Nvidia Graphics cards or Nvidia supported AMD motherboards be a problem down the road? In another year or two I will have to consider transitioning to a newer graphics card.

While I would prefer to stick with my EVGA 9800GTX+ as it still works just fine, I have been looking online and noticing that many of the AMD related motherboards are catering to ATI cards and Crosffire mode, with fewer options for Nvidia and SLI. My last ATI card was a Radeon 9600XT way back in 2004 and the only cards I have used since then were a PNY 7600GT and my current EVGA 9800GTX+.