Need help on how to install pny geforce 9800 gtx into computer

kikatron

Distinguished
Mar 24, 2010
Hello everyone,

I need help installing a GeForce 9800 GTX+ into my computer, this is my first time doing this, but I think I can do it as long as I get step by step instructions. I'm not a total beginner, I know enough computer lingo and stuff, but not so much as a tech. I want help because I don't want to mess up my computer and the graphics card just in case I bought the wrong one. My current computer specs are as follows:

-Dell XPS DXPO51 - Dell Dimension XPS 400
-Pentium D Processor 820 with Dual Core Technology (2.80 GHz, 800 FSB)
-Genuine Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005 Service Pack 3
-Memory 2GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 533MHz- 2DIMMs
-Monitors 19 inch E196FP Analog Flat Panel
-Video Cards 256MB nVidia GeForce 7300LE TurboCache
-Hard Drives 160GB Serial ATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive (7200RPM) w/ 8MB cache

The minimum requirements for installation of the GeForce 9800 GTX+ are as follows:

I'm pretty sure I meet this requirement - PCI express or PCI express 2.0 compliant motherboard with one dual-width x16 graphics slot
I'm pretty sure I meet this requirement - One 6-pin PCI express supplementary power connector
I'm pretty sure I meet this requirement -100 MB available hard disk space
I'm pretty sure I meet this requirement - 512 MB system memory

NOT SURE - a minimum 450W or greater system power supply (with a minimum 12V current rating of 24A)
NOT SURE - Intel Pentium 4, AMD Athlon XP class processor or higher
NOT SURE - DVI or VGA compatible monitor

Can someone give me step by step instructions on how to install this graphics card into my system? I know how to open the computer case and locating the PCI express slot and stuff... I just want specifics like which parts to connect and things like that. But before that I have a some questions I would like answered so that I don't do anything to harm my computer. My questions are: