Power supply connections - confused, please help

brianz

Distinguished
Jun 5, 2009
I've got my new build nearly complete, but a few items are confusing me. This is my first build...

First, my Corsair 850TX only has two SATA power cables, which I'm using on my SSD and my Blu-Ray burner, both of which only take SATA power. However, I have two other Western Digital internal hard drives, and I need to supply power to them. I obviously can't use the SATA power ports since I already used the Corsair's two SATA cables up. I don't have anything coming from the power supply that matches the 8-pin male ports in the rear of the WD internal drives. What are they? The power supply has two "peripheral" cables, but they don't seem to fit into the WD power ports.

Second, I am confused about the 4-pin fan connection on the motherboard. I have a Cooler Master 932 case. All the case fans terminate in those huge white plugs (Molex?) so I took them off and went down to the 3-pin plug. The only problem is that one of the chassis fan ports on the motherboard is actually 4-pin port. Can I plug a 3-pin fan into a 4-pin motherboard fan port? I can match the grounding wire, but there's still an extra pin coming from the board. Does that matter? Should I get some kind of adapter/converter?

Third, on my Asus motherboard, on the Q-connector block that connects all front-panel lights and switches, there's space for the PC speaker. However, I don't see any PC speaker wires coming from the front case. Am I missing something?

Thanks for any help!

Brian

Your Corsair PSU has two SATA power cables, each with 4 SATA connectors. Because you can plug up to 4 SATA devices in to each cable, you have plenty of power connectors.

Second, yes you can plug a 3 pin fan connector into a 4 pin header on a motherboard.

Third, unlike the old days, many cases do not include a system speaker. If you case or motherboard didn't come with a system speaker you can buy one here: http://www.cwc-group.com/casp.html