Something about moterboard

Geerly

Distinguished
Nov 26, 2010
So... I've got motherboard which doesn't work alright.
Processor is good, graphics is good, power supply is good. But when I turn on computer it doesn't work, like when processor doesn't get power.
It worked, so I don't think the problem is very special. I checked and there's no any 'burning sign' on motherboard.
My question is: Will cleaning it by using alcohol or any official cleaning agent can make it work?

Do not attempt to clean the motherboard (or any other circuit boards) using any type of liquids including alcohol. Careful cleaning with a can of compressed air is fine.

Check the power supply; may be defective.

Geerly

Distinguished
Nov 26, 2010
I wrote that I checked it and power supply is good.
I'm not good at this, that's why I'm asking. I heard that cleaning motherboard with an alcohol may make it work and compressed air may not be good enough.
I've already cleaned it with compressed air. It's not working.

robert123456

Distinguished
Oct 21, 2010
You mean when you press a power-switch it doesn't turn on at all right? I assume this because you said it is like when the 4 pin 12v isnt plugged in.

If so it is definitely a power problem, perhaps the 20/24 pin plug isnt properly inserted in its socket? Or your plug's fuse is gone?

Again I assume it does not switch on at all by what you said.

unreal2010

Distinguished
Dec 5, 2010
Hey bud
Plz tell whether the system is not responding to the Power on/Off button of ur Case ?
Or The system fans are all running Including the CPU fan but nothing is appearing on the monitor ?
I will advise u to double check the Wiring .
May be the Power/Reset etc connections are not proper.
May be the 24 Power connector isn't properly fitted and is loose ?
Then U should check the CPU fan connector. Many motherboards doesn't start if the CPU fan isn't detected.
Then check the CPU power connector.