I7-3770K only at 3.7...help

HBchevelle68

Honorable
Feb 10, 2013
Hi all, so I just got my build completed today and so I decided to run Prime95 with no overclock to see what my temps would be and I noticed that after a few hours it has been only running at 3.7 GHz. Why is it not hitting its stock max of 3.9?? I mean I can understand some discrepancy but I feel .2GHz is a lot. Is the processor really just able to handle it that well that it doesn't max out its turbo?

I am a noob to overclocking and I planned on getting a stable overclock of 4.2 over the next week but I am concerned that I cant even get it to hit its max turbo.

System:

CPU: i7-3770K
MOBO: Asus Sabertooth z77
HEAT SINK: Corsair H80i
GPU: EVGA 550ti 2GB
PSU: Corsair HX650
RAM: 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1866 (running at 1600 right now)
SSD: Kingston HyperX 120GB
HDD: 1TB Western Digital Black
CASE: Coolermaster Haf X

Any advice would help!

Bromeh

Honorable
Dec 6, 2012

Some motherboards put a "default overclock" on your processor and it can be diffrent from the "max turbo" one. Just change the settings in the bios and you should be able to hit 3.9Ghz without a problem.

- The Brownie

Orlean

Distinguished
Nov 28, 2011
You need to read up on the criteria on how Turbo boost technology works - Turbo Boost is dynamic overclocking of certain core(s) depending on variables such as load, current and thermal load. , 3.7ghz is the right clock speed for the 3770k running 100% load on all 4 cores it will only jump up to 3.9ghz on 1 or 2 cores and as stated above depending on thermal load, current and how much load the processor has on it.

HBchevelle68

Honorable
Feb 10, 2013
Just one more question, The i7-3770K should be able to get to 4.0 no problem. Any suggested settings to try first? I read through the oerclocking sticky on it and it mentions 2 different voltage adjustments. I am new so i am a tad nervous, I dont know what is too much or too little

Bromeh

Honorable
Dec 6, 2012