Asus 5850

Folks

Greetings, this is my first time here and I'm hoping to get some light shed on a problem with a brand new Asus 5850 ATI card bought recently.

I run an Asus P5K Black Pearl mobo with 4Gb of Geil DDR ram on a Windows 7 64-bit professional OS. Before this card I used to have a BFG GTX285 which went phut on me and after a stupid amount of hassle from BFG support, I finally was sent a GTX285 replacement (brand new) - after rejecting all the recon cards that kept failing.

I vowed to sell this card and go the ATI route. But I find the 5850 (run on standard drivers and all the way to the beta 10.3 drivers) keeps acting oddly when running GTA IV. On start up the game stutters badly akin to horrendous lag. Previous to this 5850, as a stand in card I was using a GTX260, which ran everything without a hitch.

My psu is a Dark Pro BeQuiet 750w unit, which by all accounts is compatible with the 5850 according to ATI's website. I have noticed the 12v rail only shows 11.85 without load, and drops to 11.77 under load.

Anyone has any ideas? I've uninstalled the ATI and am back running the GTX260 atm - again, without problems.

And yes, before installing the ATI I did remove ALL nvidia software and drivers.
7 answers Last reply
More about asus 5850
  1. did you use a program like driversweeper to clear out all the old NVidia drivers.

I had to do this when going from my 8800GT
    Might have to run safe mode to be sure to get them all (sorry if not how its done in Win7 - not quite gone there yet)

My Asus 5850 runs great on my Asus P5K Black Pearl mobo with 4GB OCZ RAM

My Seasonic 500w PSU supplies 11.93v on the 12v rail

You should be good after the proper clear out of thoe old drivers if you haven't already tried this type of a driver remover program (run after a normal uninstall of the drivers.)

My setup on Win XP Pro SP2 works great in all the games I have tried so far - sorry don't have GTA IV though to test mine on...

Good Luck :)
  2. Pailin