Sign in with
Your question

A Few Question Before my First Custom Upgrade

Last response: in Systems
April 18, 2010 2:47:43 PM

I am about to upgrade my computer on my own for the first time and I wanted to confirm some details.
I am only upgrading the monitor*, PSU, GPU, and case** on my computer, so

1. Is it best to install the new PSU and GPU in my current case, confirm they work, and then trade everything over, or trade everything over and then test?
2. Changing the case will not affect anything as long as I make sure I plug everything back into the same plug, correct?
3. Will I need my Windows boot disc?
4. What is the best way to ground myself & the parts? Can I just touch the case that is not in use?
I think that I know the answer to most of these questions, but since this is my first build of any sort and it is consuming a good chunk of my budget, I wanted confirmation.

Thank you for your help

Also, if you can think of anything else good to know, please tell me.
* Is this http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Acer+-+23%22+Widescreen+Fla... a good monitor, and
**Is the Antec 900 II a good case that I can keep for a while, and will it fit an HD 5850?
a b B Homebuilt system
April 19, 2010 2:09:35 AM

There is no reason to test everything first. But you should list your current MB, unless your 100% certain that the new cpu will work, or work with a bios flash.