General build advice

avianrand

Distinguished
Apr 18, 2010
I'm looking for some good tips and tricks types of advice when building a new machine. I run across odds and ends of them here and there and have tried to compile a list but it's far from complete. I know how to build a machine. I'm a software developer (SQL, VB, MS Office, Delphi, Adobe tools, some web). I've been building my own machines for myself (and occasionally for friends and family and once of twice for clients) for long time now but only do it once every 2 or 3 years or so as I need to upgrade from one system to another. Now's that time again. I need a Windows 7 machine to better deal with some of my clients' needs and to run some power hungry apps faster. Anyway, I've been doing a lot of research on parts and here's what I'm using so far:

Parts I've already picked up:

Case: Lian Li Full Tower PC-A77F
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-1000HX 1000W
CPU: Intel i7 930 (have never OC'd but will this time but not extreme, maybe 3.5)
Video: EVGA 512-P3-N871-AR GeForce 9800 GTX+
Audio: HT Omega Claro Plus (I know onboard is pretty good these days but this is a very nice audiophile PCI card)
Optical (2): LITE-ON DVD Writer - Bulk - Black SATA Model iHAS224-06
HDD (2 for OS and programs in RAID0): Western Digital Caviar Black WD6402AAEX 640GB
HDD (4 for data files and partitioned for backups of OS drive in RAID5): WD Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

Still deciding:

Mobo: One of the following (have not decided yet): EVGA E758-A1, Asus P6X58D Premium, Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R, Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5
RAM (2 sets): Corsair Dominator 6GB DDR3-1600 (PC-12800) CL8 Memory Kit (Three 2GB Memory Modules) - TR3X6G1600C8D
Heatsink/Fan: probably Noctua NH-U12P SE2

I've always RAID 1 my systems. Decided to get a little fancier this time. The RAID 5 array will be partitioned into 3 drives. Two of them around 200 MB each so I can periodically clone the OS RAID0 array to in case of a RAID0 failure.