Sign in with
Your question

Power Supply, facing up or down?

Tags:
Last response: in Systems
April 19, 2010 1:24:43 AM

I would like to ask what is the proper position of my power supply because I noticed that I do not see it's fan.

Here is the picture:

I am not the builder of the computer, the people at the computer store where I bought the parts built it for me because I have no experience in building computers.

My Case is Antec 902 and have been using the computer with this configuration for more than one week without noticing any problems.

More about : power supply facing

April 19, 2010 1:36:10 AM

If your case has bottom vents for the PSU to vent its fine to mount it with the fan at the bottom, if not i would face the fan up.
April 19, 2010 1:46:51 AM

The 902 does not have a vent hole on the bottom. I also would rotate the PSU so the PSU fan points toward the case.

I have three Antec 900's, all modded for better cable management. I chose not to cut another hole in the bottom.
Related resources
April 19, 2010 1:47:27 AM

I don't want to pirate the original poster's thread but this is related so I figured I'd ask. I've noticed that some cases do have the vents for the PSU on the bottom of the case but with the case sitting on the floor, and potentially carpet, wouldn't this prevent the power supply from venting fully?
April 19, 2010 1:50:53 AM

The way it is mounted now is fine - the installation has adequate venting.
April 19, 2010 1:57:12 AM

Ubrales said:
The way it is mounted now is fine - the installation has adequate venting.

If the case does not have a space between the fan and the bottom of the case, the hot air will circulate around the PSU and shorten the life span of the PSU or cause failure.

So i would say that its incorrect to say that its fine how it sits now.

April 19, 2010 2:16:43 AM