Levels of CPU's

Jineus

Distinguished
Jun 23, 2010
Hello,
I'm trying to build a computer, but I'm COMPLETELY new at this.
My first step would be to choose a CPU, but I don't understand the difference between Intel's CPUs.

GHz is used to measure how fast the CPU can process, but in some cases lower-costing CPUs have higher GHz.
Also, there are many types of CPUs, such as Dual Core, i3, i5, i7.
I know the i7 is the best, and dual core is the worst, but what's the real difference?

Thanks

Raidur

Distinguished
Nov 27, 2008
Dual core siimply represents the number of cores in a CPU. AMD has dual cores, and i3 (and i5 6xx) is a dual core.

Dual core means the CPU can process 2 instructions at once, so its almost like having 2 CPUs in one, and a quad core would be 4 (obviously).

The difference between dual core, i3, i5, and i7.

Well I'm assuming by dual core you mean core2duo, this is intels old arch which uses no L3 cache, among other differences.

I3 is the new dual core series. These CPUs have L3 along with HT to help with multi-threaded apps.

I5 is has dual cores (6xx) and a quad core (750). The dual cores are like the i3s but with turbo and higher stock clocks/multipliers (I'll add the i5 dual cores are massively overpriced, and should be ignored). The 750 is just like the i7s minus HT (which doesn't help in games).

I7 is intels best series and is made up of quad cores with HT.

If you want to see the actual performance differences, check out the CPU Charts in the Charts section of Tomshardware at the top of the page.

The CPU best for you would depend on your uses.

What exactly are your main uses for the machine? Also, what is your budget?

feeddagoat

Distinguished
Apr 11, 2010
Just to add a bit more in

pentium is intel budget CPU which doesn't have hyperthreading or turbo boost.

Turbo boost is a technology that increases clock speed when the processor cores aren't running at their maximum power usage.

basically
pentium = no hyperthreading, no turbo