How to make program installs/downloads go to HDD instead of SSD?

wingpc

Honorable
May 25, 2012
Hello all, I recently built my first computer and its working (after much trouble)! I have the Windows 7 OS installed on my SSD, but the space there is very limited. I want to make programs automatically download / install to my HDD which has more space. Could someone outline or send me to a site on how to do this?

I've been trying to do this method: http://lifehacker.com/5467758/move-the-users-directory-in-windows-7

But I get stuck at the System repair part as I don't see that option or know how to get to it. I'm very new at this. Thanks!

Solution

mesab66

Distinguished
Aug 5, 2009
Hi, There is almost always an option during install - simply redirect the default path to your HDD. Some programs (not all) will always use a little space on your C drive also - normally, don't worry about this, though do monitor your C drive space regularly. Also, make sure your newly installed programs use the HDD as the default store for data (normally done via a something like the options menu within the program).
The download path can be changed via the use of the 'Save As' option just before you commit to a download (e.g. right-click then save target as). Alternatively, the download interface may offer you this choice.

The main thing is to pay attention to each step of a program install - they're all pretty much the same and you'll soon get the hang of it.
Well done on the new build! :)

wingpc

Honorable
May 25, 2012

Oh, but I already have windows 7 installed. Would there be a way that I could do it without having to reinstall windows?

I just found this tutorial on creating some junctions by moving where user profiles are located, would that do the trick and make it so that programs i download will automatically begin installing on the HDD?

http://www.starkeith.net/coredump/2009/05/18/how-to-move-your-windows-user-profile-to-another-drive/

mesab66

Distinguished
Aug 5, 2009