Strange Electrical Question

mfb236

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2010
Hey everyone,

I have a bit of an odd question, and I'm hoping that you can help me solve the issue that I'm having.

Approximately 6 months ago, I purchased and built my new machine. The build was successful and I've been using the computer since without any major issues. However, recently I've moved the computer into a new room we added to the house. This room's outlets are all controlled by a GFCI. Whenever I go to power on my computer, the GFCI trips and the outlets lose power. Now I'm not an electrician, or an expert with computers but it would seem to me that my computer is causing a ground fault.

I do know this:

1) GFCI's are not overload devices, and since the computer has -occasionally- booted up successfully, it isn't the circuit that is tripping and it -can- handle the load.

2) It is only my computer since my girlfriend has her computer in the same room (which is a much older but also custom built-pc) and it boots up and runs fine. It does not trip the GFCI.

3) I'm using an OCZ fatal1ty 700w PSU. I was told this was a decent/good PSU, but if it isn't causing the issue, I don't know what would.

So does anyone have any ideas or suggestions? Or has anyone seen this issue before and have any advice? It is really bumming me out since the room is in the basement and GFCIs are required by code. I can't take it out, and what worries me more, is that even if I did remove the GFI, the computer is potentially dangerous? Otherwise it wouldn't be causing this fault.

I don't have any other ideas and so I come to the collective community.

Thanks a lot guys.

mfb236

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2010
I don't have another PSU lying around that is powerful enough to run the computer. I'll have to RMA the one I have for a different OCZ. I suppose that is my only option though.

Paperdoc

Polypheme
Ambassador