Your question

Long Term Home PC

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
April 20, 2010 12:51:12 AM

First time poster - I'm a noob - and I've been reading a lot of the forums trying to get a handle on build my first PC. Let me start by thanking everyone - whether you post to my thread or not - for all the info shared. It's huge help!

I'm looking to build a PC for long-term use at my house. My current PC is a Dell Inspiron 2.8GHz Pentium 4 that I purchased in 2003 that currently multi-boots XP, UBuntu and LinuxMint. It's going to the kids. Seriously, I want this to be top of the line today so that I can upgrade and modify with enhanced parts over the next few years. I tore down and rebuilt the Dell in 2007 and like keeping things running for a good long while.

I'd like something QUIET and that doesn't have a lot of exterior LED's or lights. This PC will go in my home office which adjoins the masterbedroom -so keeping things quiet and without lights helps at night.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: This month or next

BUDGET RANGE: $1,200 - $1,500

SYSTEM USAGE MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT:
MS office / Open Office applications, multimedia, watching movies, potentially as an HTPC, photo editing, audio and video file conversion (from time to time) and general web browsing. Games may be played sporadically.

PREFERRED WEBSITES: Newegg, I've used Tiger Direct before and have liked them too.

PARTS PREFERENCES: Intel, Nvidia, Seagate - also open to suggestions

OVERCLOCKING: Interested, but first priority is to get a working, stable machine, then I'll look into overclocking

SLI or CROSSFIRE: Not today, but want the option in the future

MONITOR & RESOLUTION: Have a 24" widescreen, 1920 x 1200

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: Windows 7 OS, may dual-boot with Ubuntu (or Mythbuntu or other Linux OS)

Here's the list of components - please critique

Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R LGA 1366 Intel X58 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0