Sign in with
Your question

Does 'ATI Radeon Xpress 1100' support Tv Out?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
March 27, 2010 8:53:33 PM

Hi,

Appologies if this is a basic question, but i'm still quite new to technology.... I'm struggling to find out conclusively if my Laptop can connect to my old 'CRT Tv' directly, so i can watch bbc iPlayer on a bigger screen?

So far i'm getting different answers, with about 50% saying yes just with 2x cables (see below), and the other 50% of people saying i need a special 'Pc/Tv Converter' box worth about £40!

My laptop was a good price from new but lacks some basic connections like s-video, so i've only got a VGA port to connect from (and headphone socket)

I've found several online computer suppliers, and i think that i need:

- 1 x 'Vga to Rca Composite video'
- 1 x '3.5mm stereo jack to twin phono'

But will it work directly or do i definitely need a special box?

I've tried looking at the ATI website, but it's not clear whether or not my vga card has Tv-Out capability

(if i can connect an external monitor, i should be able to connect to a television right? - it's still an output... or is it about the iPlayer signal...?)
(i don't undersand what the 'special box/converter' does as some people say it's for old type computers??)

If the answer is just to use the cables (thus saving money also) can i connect to the Scart on my tv, or does it have to be with the 'wht, red, yel' connections?

My laptop specs are:

- "ASUS" X51RL Notebook
- Intel Pentium Dual T2330 @ 1.60GHz
- Vista Home Premium
- "ATI" Radeon Xpress 1100 (Video Card?)

thankyou in advance to anyone who can sort this out once and for all

cheers,
Des.
March 27, 2010 9:11:25 PM