Sign in with
Your question

First Custom Build - Suggestions?

Last response: in Systems
April 21, 2010 7:23:45 PM

This is my first time building a computer from scratch. I've done lots of upgrades on my current computer and am completely capable of assembling all the parts. I just want to make sure that all my parts are compatible, i'm not forgetting something, and it will fit my needs.

I plan to make the purchase in the next month.

What I will use the computer for:
-High-End Gaming
-Web Development Tasks (Work from home)
-General Computing

I want it to be reliable and upgradable (future-proofed).

My budget is relatively tight at the moment so I've built a core system. I plan on using some components from my current computer until I can afford to upgrade them.

New Components:
Case: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
MOBO: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
PSU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
CPU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
MEM: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Reused Components:
GPU: nVidia 8800 GTS 320mb (Upgrade Later0
HD: Standard SATA 7200 RPM 500mb Hard Drive (Upgrade Later)
DVD: Standard 24x Drive
CPU Heat: Stock (Upgrade Later)
Audio: Xtreme Gamer (Upgrade Later)
Keyboard, Mouse, OS, Monitor, Speakers

Thanks for your help.
April 21, 2010 7:31:18 PM

Don't buy a $200 case. The HAF 922 is great at only $80. It's quite possibly the best case made.

Rest is decent. You may want to consider an 850W PSU depending on the GPU you're looking at later.

Also, don't forget to check for combos. I know there's one with the CPU and board.
m
l
April 21, 2010 7:33:02 PM

everything looks good to me, you wont be using the old heat sink the CPU will / should come with a new one.
The video card will be your biggest bottle neck right now, need to get a Nvidia GTS/GTX something.