garrettk4

Honorable
May 31, 2012
Hi, I was wondering about RAID, I've never done it before but I'm curious about it.

A few Questions/Possible Scenarios about it

I have a Intel 520 series 120gb SSD (Windows 7 Pro on it and a few games)

My other 1TB HDD has all of my music, videos, backup.

What I noticed a few days ago was when I backed up my files (Made a system image on the storage drive) that it took up a 20 gigs. Its not much but say in a few years when that 20 turns into 100gigs. Over time I will be in trouble if I continue to back up on the same drive.

So my question is can I get another drive of equal or higher volume and RAID the 2 so the computer recognizes it as one whole storage drive.

-----------------------
System Specs:
Core i5 3570k
Asus P8Z77-V Pro
16gb 1600mhz 4x4gb Corsair xms3
2 HD 6870 1gb ddr5 Crossfire
1 Intel 520 120gb SSD SATA III
1 TB HDD Western Digital Green
1 Samsung Blu Ray CDRW DVDRW
Thermaltake chaser mk-1

tomatthe

Distinguished
You could, but that is not a good idea based on what you are trying to accomplish. To use the drives in a raid set that doubled the capacity it would be using Raid 0, which doubles the chances of losing all of your data making it a very very poor choice for backups.

Probably just getting a 2tb or 3tb or 4tb drive when the time comes would be a better option.

Xenturion

Distinguished
Sep 1, 2011
I've been running a RAID 0 setup of 2 Western Digital 640GB Black Edition Drives for 3 years now without incident. As with most things in computers, your mileage may vary. R0 with a File Optimizing Defrag Tool is quite quick. I've gotten sustained reads of up to 200MB/s which is fairly decent for Hard Drives.