ATT &T DSL cannot connect to internet

aleida13

Distinguished
May 6, 2010
Hello,
First let me said that I am not a computer expert so I need someone to help me but make it simple. I just purchased a Linsky wireless router and when I tried to make the connections following the disk instructions, it keep saying that i have no internet connection, as soon as I change it back to the modem direct to the computer, i get internet connection. I just purchased my first laptop and i have not been able to test it.

G

Run an ethernet cable from computer to router and following the setup instructions that came with the router (or download the manual from Linksys) go into the router's setup pages. Temporarily disable wireless security. Save settings. Exit.

Try to contact the router via wireless, with the ethernet cable disconnected. If that works, try getting on the internet. If success, the issue was with wireless security.

Carefully follow the instructions for setting up wireless security type and passphrase.

aleida13

Distinguished
May 6, 2010
Run an ethernet cable from computer to router and following the setup instructions that came with the router (or download the manual from Linksys) go into the router's setup pages. Temporarily disable wireless security. Save settings. Exit.

Try to contact the router via wireless, with the ethernet cable disconnected. If that works, try getting on the internet. If success, the issue was with wireless security.

Carefully follow the instructions for setting up wireless security type and passphrase.

I do not know if it will work that way because. I have At & T services (DSL) so I need to connect to the modem (motorola 2210) to get the phone line.

You need to link the DSL MODEM to your new Linksys router and then follow Fihart's advice. The MODEM should have come with a cable - possibly blue - to link to a router and on your Linksys, there will be a separate socket from the other four into which that cable goes.[/#000ff]

aleida13