Creative X-Fi or ASUS Xonar?

ambam

Distinguished
Jun 5, 2010
If I were to buy a sound card for a computer which is used almost entirely for gaming, which sound card would your recommend? The creative X-Fi Fatal1ty professional, or the ASUS Xonar D2? The X-Fi cards are known for their endless driver problems.

I'm no expert with sound cards, but I a comparison at iXBT labs between the ASUS Xonar D2 and Creative X-Fi Elite Pro resulted in a draw, in the sense that the difference was nearly unnoticeable. If I recall, the X-FI Fatal1ty Pro is newer, and may be better than the Xonar D2 released in '07.

darkguset

Distinguished
Aug 17, 2006
I own an X-Fi XtremeMusic and it is awesome, BUT... when i purchased it there was no Xonar on the market...
If i was to get one today i would definitely go for the Xonar. Don't get me wrong, the X-Fi is great, but so is the Xonar and at the end of the day the drivers and the support for the ASUS product are much much better! I have not had many nightmares with my X-Fi, but yes i have run into problems before and they are frustrating for something as simple as a sound card! It is far from plug and play. The ASUS on the other hand usually works straight out of the box, with nice options and very light drivers (as opposed to Creative's 300MB hard disk torment!).

Since i have been using a 3rd party driver (from DanielK) i have not had any problems at all. But that shows that Creative needed a driver written by a random person rather than their team... no customer focus really.

Bottom line: X-Fi - works great now (thanks to DanielK and not Creative!)
ASUS: i would go for this one today

ambam

Distinguished
Jun 5, 2010

How is the Xonar's audio quality in games, compared to the creative X-Fi?

They're both going to be better than the onboard audio, of course.