Keve

Distinguished
Feb 3, 2010
Hi,
This is the configuration I am considering. What do you guys think? Any suggestions?
Item-Specifications-Price (INR)
Processor-Intel Core i5-750-Rs.10200
Motherboard-Intel BOXDH55HC-Rs.6400
Ram-4GB DDR3 Corsair VS2GB1333D3 (2x2gb)-Rs.5800
PowerSupply-Tagan TG-500-U37-Rs.3050
Hardisk-Seagate 1TB-Rs.4150
Cabinet-COOLER MASTER Elite 310-Rs.1850
DVD writer-Sony-Rs.1200
Kbd Mouse-Logitech MK250 Wireless KeyBoard & Mouse-Rs.1200
Monitor 1-Benq G2420HD-Rs.11350 OR
Monitor 2-Dell S2409W-Rs.12700

Do I need a 500w PSU, or will a 450watt suffice? Also how important is it for me to get a branded one? There are loads of Indian and Chinese made PSUS available in the market, should I even consider them?

Which monitor should I choose among the Benq and the Dell? I do not play games at all, I need the screen real estate for multitasking when it comes to documents and browsers, and ofcourse while watching movies, which I do very often.

Im a newbie, excuse my ignorance. I read that the i5 has an inbuilt GPU, what does that mean? Would I need a graphics card to run the monitor on the motherboard? If so, please suggest an inexpensive one as the build is already costing me quite a bit.

I will be running Windows 7 on the PC.

Cheers,
TheSandman

Don't get an Intel motherboard. They actually aren't good quality. Get something from Asus or Gigabyte to ensure qualtiy.

You most certainly want a branded PSU. And not just any brands. Get an Antec, Corsair, Silverstone or SeaSonic. The problem with no-name PSUs is that they are poor quality. While they might work, they won't last as long and when they die, they are likely to take other parts with them. It's never a good idea to skimp on the PSU.

As for the size, if you are not using a video card, a 400W or less would be fine. Just make sure it's a quality one.