Sign in with
Your question

Help a newb with first build

Last response: in Systems
April 23, 2010 2:06:11 AM

Hi all and thanks for any help you can give me. Basic problem first, then hardware details at the bottom.

Six months ago, I decided to try to put together my first computer out of a bunch of used parts. Bought a CPU and motherboard used but supposedly tested and working. Put them in a case according to instructions I found on the net. Turned it on and got no POST. Didn't get any beeps either. Then I had an accident which took away my time for several months. I would now like to try to get the thing working, but have forgotten what little I had learnt at the time. Since this was six months ago, I will no longer be able to bitch at the sellers if CPU or mobo are non-functional. Such is life. I will get new ones.

About me. I have never built a PC before but have always been perfecty happy replacing parts in them and even in laptops. I have owned computers continuously since my first Winbook 386 laptop twenty years ago. I am fairly careful and tend to do things slowly and methodically including following instruction. I do have a multimeter to test parts.

When I turn it on, the fans spin and lights come on but I get no image on the screen on the (known good) monitor. (I have tried connecting the monitor via both VGA and DVI.)

I do not hear any beeps.

The mobo is an AS Rock AOD790GX. The CPU is an AMD triple core (IIRC) whose name I can no longer remember. I think it was an AM2 Phenom. (It was one of a kind that supposedly might have a fourth core that was unlockable.) I bought that first and made sure that the mobo was compatible. The case came with a 420 watt power supply and couple optical drives. The HD was mine and worked previously.

Where do I go first in narrowing down what is wrong? Do I need to take it all apart or can I test it without removing the motherboard?

Dan

More about : newb build

a b B Homebuilt system
April 23, 2010 2:11:38 AM