Vertex 3 Vs Vertex 4 Vs Samsung 830

Last response: in Storage
June 1, 2012 10:40:37 AM

Which SSD to buy :

1. OCZ Vertex 3 128 GB

2. OCZ Vertex 3 128GB MAX IOPS edition

3. OCZ Vertex 4 128GB

4. Samsung 830 128GB.

i will obviously update to the latest firmwares before installing the SSD.

The Samsung is the cheapest. Vertex 3 MAX IOPS is the most expensive. But the price difference is less than what you think....

Price makes < 5% difference to buying choice, though. I want the best performance for my usage type.

Typical usage : web surfing, little gaming, torrents, MS-Office, monthly windows updates :D  , multiple web browser installation-uninstallation

as i understand, Vertex 3 have become stable now ? I think most of my work is probably read based with queue depths of maximum 2 (AFAIK typical desktop usage) but i am no expert.

which SSD would be best for me ?

Edit : how do petrol drives compare ? a 128gb petrol is 66% the price of a vertex3

Best solution

a b G Storage
June 1, 2012 10:43:45 AM

Samsung 830 imo, they are very highly spoken of on basically every forum post like yours asking for advice on a drive to decide on. You will not notice any real difference between any of those drives based on the usage you specified, which again points to the Samsung if it's the least expensive.

I've got that same drive in this machine, had zero issues, and it made an i7 920 feel like a brand new machine. That's after a million headaches dealing with corsair drives over the span of a year.
a b G Storage
June 1, 2012 10:53:33 AM

I would also recommend the Samsung 830. I got the 256gb version and it has been nothing short of amazing. No hiccups and no driver related problems as far as I'm aware.

You could try to go with the Vertex 3 as it has become more "mature", but then again the Samsung 830 series has been rock solid from the beginning (I think?). The vertex 4 is unproven at this point in terms of reliability.