Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Motherboard wont beep

Last response: in CPUs
July 1, 2010 2:20:57 AM

Hello,

This is my first time building a computer. I got AMD athlon II X3, ATX mobo, 500w PS, Gigabyte HD 5570 graphics card, and 4GB dual channel ram.

When I plug everything in and turn it on, all the lights and fans turn on but there is no signal to my monitor and I do not hear a beep from the motherboard.

Initially I thought it was my motherboard, but I returned it and got the one I have now and it is the same problem.

Thanks in advance for all the feedback!

John

More about : motherboard wont beep

a b V Motherboard
July 1, 2010 2:55:00 AM

Try breadboarding it, [build outside the case], might be a bad connection, [ground], or psu/cpu, does your gpu need one or more 6pin connections, or 4 pin to the mobo for the cpu ????? :) 
m
l
July 1, 2010 4:53:53 AM

dokk2 said:
Try breadboarding it, [build outside the case], might be a bad connection, [ground], or psu/cpu, does your gpu need one or more 6pin connections, or 4 pin to the mobo for the cpu ????? :) 

GPU=graphics card right?

My graphics card goes right into the motherboard PCI express slot with no other connections. I will try building it outside the case. How do you recommend I do that?
m
l
Related resources
July 1, 2010 8:35:58 AM

Make sure you haven't screwed the graphics card in too tight.

The 5570 shouldn't need a 6pin PCI express power cable.

Motherboard manuals aren't very clear but yes you need the 4-pin Ps to the mobo as well as the 20(24)pin one.
m
l

Best solution

a c 172 à CPUs
a c 156 V Motherboard
July 1, 2010 10:06:33 AM

System specs?

You have worked through our standard checklist and troubleshooting thread:
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/261145-31-read-postin...
yes? I mean work through, not just read over it.

Breadboard - that will isolate any kind of case problem.
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/262730-31-breadboardi...