Last response: in CPUs
July 1, 2010 6:22:03 AM

Asus M4A785-M motherboard
AMD Athlon II X4 630 CPU
2GB DDR2-800 2 x 2GB RAM
WD 640GB SATA Caviar Black HDD
Windows XP Pro SP3

Hello,

I am not an expert in this so forgive me if I use the wrong language when referring to components.

I had a computer built for me with the AMD Athlon II X4 630 processor, which, if I understand correctly, is a dual-core processor that can act like a quad-core.

Once when booting up I hit whatever button activates the quad-core feature, and now it says "4 cores are activated!" I think this is called overclocking but I am not sure, and again, I understand this is what this processor is specifically designed to do.

I cannot find a way to go back to dual-core, not as the computer is booting up and not in the BIOS or anywhere else, and I think I am noticing less performance in quad-core mode, for example it takes forever for new windows or tabs to open in IE8, it just hangs there and then finally opens.

When I click on "My Computer" properties, it no longer shows the Athlon processor, it just says "AMD Engineering Sample," and what used to be 2.8 GHz clock now says it is 1.6 GHz.

Does anyone know what I've done, whether I'm in a good mode or whether I need to go back to dual-core mode and how to do that? I've checked everywhere including AMD but I can't find any information on this. Even in the reviews of the X4 processor, it doesn't talk about this switch from dual- to quad-core.

Here's a page that talks about this CPU if that helps: http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1073/1/

Thank you.

John

More about : amd athlon 630

a c 105 à CPUs
July 1, 2010 6:48:06 AM

the athlon II x4 series are a full quad core CPU, hence the "x4"

the 1.6ghz is probably the CPU speed during cool & quiet mode, when few programs are running and don't need much CPU support

over clocking is simply increasing CPU speed from stock settings

m
l
a c 83 à CPUs
a b À AMD
July 1, 2010 7:22:07 AM