Solved

Need help formatting hard drive please!

I have a Seagate 1.5 TB portable hard drive and have recently tried to format it. Now I'm not really good with all this tech stuff and I am having problems. The formatting process seems to be stuck in the middle. This is what it looks like on the formatting progress window:

Capacity: 875 GB (Why does it say 875?)

File System: NTFS

Allocation Unit Size: 4096 bytes

Restore Device Defaults

Volume Label: (Left it blank)

Format Options: Quick format and MS-DOS start up disk (Left both unchecked)

Then the progress bar which is seemingly stuck somewhere close to the middle. It hasn't moved for hours now and I'm getting worried. I tried to do a quick format but it says it couldn't be formatted. I need some help
32 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about need formatting hard drive please
  1. have you tried using the Seagate tools?
  2. Are you doing anything else while it's formatting? You should leave it turn off any unnecessary programs such anti-virus and other programs. With a 1.5TB drive it takes quite a while to format.
  3. I do have some other programs running yes. I will try again with nothing running but I've already left it alone for 24 hours and it still hasn't made any progress. Is this normal?
  4. It normally shouldn't take that long. But you can do a quick format first. And then try a full format. Don't worry about formatting too many times. It will not degrade and not decrease the life of your hard disk drive.
  5. I've tried to do a quick format but a window pops up saying that it could not complete the format. What should I do?
  6. Okay try this. I suggest deleting the volume on the drive and format it to NTFS again. Go to Start->create and format disk partitions. And right click the drive and you should see the options.
  7. Ok I deleted the volume but now it isn't showing up
  8. Now make a partition or create a simple volume.