SSD SATA3 6GB shows as 3GB...?

Jason Webb

Honorable
Jun 3, 2012
Hello,

I am new to Tom's Hardware, and I have a question which I am hoping somebody can be kind enough to answer for me. For many years I have been HDD through and through, with never thinking of using or buying an SSD. Well I took the plunge and purchased four of them because they were on offer. I have updated the firmware and patched the SSD with the minor bug fixes. I know the golden rule of SSD is you don't RAID SSD's but I have four of them and I thought that it was better to have them as one RAID instead of splitting them into sections.

SSD 1 OS
SSD 2 Data
SSD 3 Data
SSD 4 Games

The performance is just staggering. Windows 7 Ult x64 installed in 10 minutes... to be exact it was 10:03.6. Windows 7 SP1 installed in just under 15 minutes which was impressive as well. Although, when I installed the MB software... I.e. USB 3.0 drivers, LAN and other drivers software I looked at the AMD RAID interface and it shows as SATA3 3GB instead of SATA3 6GB...? I don't understand why it is showing as 3GB instead of 6GB...? When I tested the performance of the SATA they were dreadful. I shall rephrase that, they were horrendous, I couldn't believe it, the figures were so low I thought there was something wrong with them because of the poor performance.

Read: 278MB
Write: 146MB

I have installed my OS on my HDD and later on today I shall test the SSD without load to see what the results are like because 278MB is such a poor score for 4 SSD in RAID. I am not worried about TRIM to be honest. I read somewhere about leaving you system idle once a week so garbage can run... not sure if this was true. I should have got a larger capacity, but we all learn from out mistakes don't we. Granted it's an expensive mistake but, next time I shall get a higher capacity instead. Windows is to the desktop from pushing the button to the desktop in just under 19 seconds which is pretty impressive.