Advice: My First Build i5-750

spinphd480

Distinguished
Apr 25, 2010
Greeting,

I am a first time builder, but ever since my friend recommended that I build a computer rather than buy one, I am very much obsessed and excited about my first build. I have spent the greater part of the month, reading reviews, posts and articles on what parts to get for my computer. I have reached a point where I need some outside advice other than my friend and the IT guy at my office.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Please remember that the components inside a computer are pretty new to me, so if I used any computer terms or slang incorrectly, be sure make fun of me and laugh at my expense J

Current Computer:
· Windows XP Professional
· Dell DXP051
· CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 2.80GHz (2 CPUs)
· Ram: 2x -1GB DDR2-SDRAM (PC2-4200/533 MHZ)
· Video: NVIDIA GeForce 7300 LE (512.0 MB)
· Capture: TVT3CR: Angel II MPEG Device
· Hard Drive: 320G, S2, 7.2K, 16M Lead Free, WD-RAD
· Motherboard is Unknown.

How I Want To Use My New Computer (Most to Least Important)
· Office Applications (most important because it’s how I pay for this damn thing) and other basic computer usage: music, internet, etc
· Connect in High Quality HD to my Primary LCD TV
· Stream Video
· Stream Video through router to PS3 or remote stream to Air Video App.
· Video Conversion to Different Formats (trim or edit out unneeded parts of video)
· Capture HD and SD Video from my DVR or Digital Cable Box with ultimate goal of remote viewing (otherwise I will just buy a Slingbox)
· Store Large HD Files
· Use as primary DVR if I can capture 2 simultaneous shows from cable box in quality HD Video.
·

Additional Needs:
Multitasking: Running office applications, accessing work through terminal server, listen to music or surfing the Internet while capturing or converting video.

Quite: My Computer is also in my bedroom, and I like to run tasks while I sleep. With that said, a quiet machine is ideal.