First time building a computer

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Computer
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
April 28, 2010 1:44:35 PM

Hello guys,
I'm planning to build a new computer soon, but the problem is, it's my first time.
I'm in a process of choosing my components, I knew it wouldn't be an easy thing to do, but before I knew it, I was banging my head against my desk several times.
I have several questions, I hope I could get some feedback or answers from the people at this forum. :p 

1. I don't know if all these components are compatible with each other.
2. I don't know if my power supply unit will be compatible and I don't really know what the required watt usage should be. I think 650W might be more than enough, but I could be wrong. xD

Thanks to those who can help me with this. :D 
* Edit: Changed the motherboard, power supply unit, cooler and the RAM.

Case:
Cooler Master CM 690

Motherboard:*
ASUS M4A89GTD PRO

CPU:
AMD Phenom II X6 1055T

Video Card:
GeForce GTX 470

Hard drive:
Western Digital Caviar Green WD10EARS

RAM:*
G.Skill 4GB DDR3 PC3-12800 DC Kit

CPU Cooler:*
Scythe Mugen 2

Power Supply:*
Corsair TX650W

Optical Drive:
Sony Optiarc AD-5240S

SSD:**
Intel Postville X25-V - 40GB

More about : time building computer

April 28, 2010 1:51:00 PM

go for ripjaws ram or corsair would be nice~.
April 28, 2010 1:59:05 PM

avengedsoul said:
go for ripjaws ram or corsair would be nice~.

Is Ripjaws or Corsair really that much better? I picked Kingston because it was slightly cheaper.
If it does have an impact, I'll choose a different one then.
Related resources
April 28, 2010 2:20:17 PM

Hmmm...
1. You might want to get better brands for the mobo. Get ASUS or Gigabyte.
2. CNPS9700 is expensive and loud on high speed. You might want to get something else.
3. You might also want PSUs from Corsair or Antec. 650W is only enough for 1 GPU.