New build. Please help, issues with starting up.!

Dewm

Distinguished
Oct 27, 2009
Hey,

So first off, I have some hardware experience (replacing RAM, HDD's, CD drives and such) But i've never done anything of this scale. So I finally broke down and bought all the parts I need for my new comp, here is a list of the build.

Antec 1200 Case.

LG Flatron 23" monitor.

ASUS P6TD Deluxe ATX Intel Motherboard http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16813131403

Intel i7 960 3.2 GHz

OCZ Gold 6GB (3 x 2GB) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16820227365

OCZ Vertex 2 SSD (50GB) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16820227528

CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W Power Supply http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16817139009

SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 500GB http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16822152181

CoolerMaster V8

XFX ATI Radeon HD 5870 1GB Video Card http://www.portatech.com/catalog/viewitem.asp?id=27306&r=p

Last night I finally got the last of the parts, I sit down and start to put it all together, (I am using a static mat with a wrist band and a ground on the case) I put the processor on the motherboard, but the arctic fox thermal past on, put the cooler master on (with the annoying back plating) mouth the MOBO, install the RAM, SSD, HDD, CD drive, Video Card, power supply. Do all the wiring, (SATA to all of the devices, and power to them, power to the MOBO.

So I finally finish the installation, check everything I can think of once, then again. I plug it into a surge protector. Fire up the monitor first, then the power on the power supply. then finally the big test, I hit the power button. The thing comes to life, all the fans start up, and light up (I have lights and fans on the case, the CPU, the graphics cards, they all start up and run)