Need some help going 24GB Please

tattoo18

Distinguished
Jan 13, 2011
Hi there, I am a noob to the forum so sorry in advance. I think I need some major help. I am trying to figure out the best (fastest-quickest) and most upgradable Ram for my system. I bought (2) G.Skill F3-12800CL9T-12BRL sets to upgrade from my (stock) 12GB Elpida-6x2GB, to a 24GB G.Skill setup. Now I am reading and looking around (should have done this first, I know) I am thinking that there is better memory out there for my system. Any help or suggestion’s please?
Here is my system.

Dell Studio XPS 435T/9000:
Windows 7 Ultimate (64bit)
Intel Core i7 Extreme 965 @ 3.2GHz - Current speed - 3.33GHz (Turbo)
Motherboard – Dell Inc, Model - 0X501H, Chipset - Intel X58, BIOS - Version A16 03/19/2009, SMBIOS Version 2.5
12GB Elpida ram PC3-8500 ddr3-1066 (stock dell ram)
GPU – Nvidia GeForce GTX 260, Driver 8.17.12.6099, 10/16/2010 (Will be upgrading in the next few weeks!)

I really just want to know if I am doing the right thing. Once I started reading more about the latencies and PC3-8500, 10666, or 12800. I knew I needed help from people that knew way more than I do.
When I talk to G.Skill Tech they say they don’t have a 24GB setup for my systems specs! I am really trying to figure out is the G.Skill F3-12800CL9T-12BRL a waste for my system and should I just go with maybe the G.Skill F3-10666CL7T-12GBRH. Or even something better all together? Lost?… I know me too
Any advice please?
Thanks again

Solution
Well that board will only handle up to 1333 DDR3, and even then it will still only run at 1067. There are some BIOS limitations with it, as is typical of a budget board. Better, lower latency RAM may help some, but in that system environment already running a 965X/X58 with 24 GB G.Skill- you might only notice a slight difference, if any. Not sure that's worth the money to upgrade that much RAM beyond the G.Skill you bought with that particular board.