[H] New System critique

froboy449

Distinguished
Apr 30, 2010
Hi all,

This is my first ever post on Tom's Hardware, and I really hope I've done everything correctly.

Anyway, I'm building a custom system for the first time, and I've been lurking this site quite a bit, trying to research all of the angles and make sure I get the best PC I can get for the budget I'm on. First a little bit about myself and my needs. I'm a college student majoring in art and UNC. I'm also played Starcraft competitively, and obviously I'm looking to switch to SC2 now that it might finally come out. I'm currently playing the Beta on my laptop which was definitely not made for gaming, but it's what I have and definitely better than nothing

Anyway, I'll be working all summer, and I was shooting for a system in the $700-$800 range that I could afford with a good summer's pay, but still has the functionality I need to play Starcraft 2 and do some digital Art with programs such as Corel Painter and Photoshop.

The build is as such:
-ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 AMD Motherboard
-AMD Phenom II X4 925 2.8 GHz (my friend and are planning on OC'ing it to about 3.4 to 3.6 GHz)
-*NVidia GeForce GTS 250 1GB, 256-bit
--4GB DDR3 1600 RAM (A-DATA Gaming series)
*Cooler Master Hyper TX3 fan
-APEVIA X-DREAMER3 Case (probably red or Green if anyone is wondering)
-160 GB 7200 RPM 3.0 GB/s 3.5" Hard Drive (lenovo make, I've had great experiences with them in the past)
-RAIDMAX Blackstone series RX-700AC 700W PSU
-General ASUS CD-Drive
-LG W1953T-PF 19" Widescreen LCD Monitor, max res 1366 x 768
-Logitech LX3 Wired Mouse
-generic Dell keyboard that I'll probably steal from school (don't tell anyone!)
including OS, total price was about $880

I generally used newegg.com for reviews/prices, but also checked out ebay, amazon, buy, and overstock for places to check the prices against.