Motherboard for Intel Core i5 750

lostb0y

Distinguished
May 1, 2010
hi there, am sort of a newbie here... i am planning to build a new pc for myself, primarily for gaming.

- I have decided to go for Intel's core i5 750 processor for my new pc. Have been in the search for a good motherboard for the same arounf $150. I have heard that Gigabyte's GA-P55M-UD2 is a reasonably priced, yet good mobo. Or should i go for ASUS P7P55D? Can anyone please advice me on this? I plan to overclock as well.

- I have been hearing about USB 3.0 and SATA 6 Gb/s standards lately. Is there any mobo which i can get around $150-$200 which supports the above?

- I am also wondering what sort of power supply and cabinet would I be needing since I plan to overclock.

- Also wondering which video card would be good around $150 range, one that would support HTPC

Thanks again :)

asteldian

Distinguished
Apr 23, 2010
The Gigabyte is a micro board so unless you need a small computer I would avoid it.
I went with a cheap mobo as I felt the USB3 and SATA 6 are nice but not essential, they are things I will look at in a few years. By not going for these features you can get a cheaper mobo (and possibly cheaper HDD?) which boosts your Graphics card budget. You have stated you want this machine for gaming, so ideally you don't want less than the 5850, your current budget allows for a 5770, which is a nice enough card but lacks real power for gaming especially as time moves forward, whereas the 5850 will last a good while.

As you have stated gaming is the main aim I would definately save by not looking for usb 3.0 etc and getting a better graphic card.

Power Supply I usually go for 750W as standard to leave room for upgrades and deterioration as the PSU gets older.

For overclocking any descent size case will usually do the job, it is the coolers you get that matter - the Hyper 212+ is hugely popular for OCing and is cheap ($30)

lostb0y

Distinguished
May 1, 2010