Sign in with
Your question

Buying an SSD - a couple of questions

Last response: in Storage
June 13, 2012 11:19:32 AM

Hey everyone,

I'm buying an SSD and I would really appreciate some direct answers on these questions. I'm not very technically competent, I've been trawling through threads and guides for ages but have just ended up more confused than when I started:

1) I have a copy of Windows 7 installed on my current hard drive. If I'm buying a new SSD, can I simply backup the existing hard drive, format it, and then use the same installation disk and install key to install Windows 7 to the SSD?

2) I don't need to have an OS installed on my hard drive that I'm using for extra storage space, right?

3) I've always been a bit bewildered by 'AHCI' and 'RAID', I will have a 1TB hard drive and a 128GB SSD operating together, do I need to worry about these options? What should it be set to?

Thank you very much.
a b G Storage
June 13, 2012 12:21:17 PM

1.) It depends on the license you purchased. OEM licenses can sometimes be problematic when you attempt to recycle the key. I have been successful in recycling my personal key. Was it pre-installed or did you purchase that as a full version from a retailer? Make sure you do not have the secondary hard drive connected when you're installing Windows, just the SSD so that it will not write any files to the secondary drive.

2.) Correct, you don't want to have an OS installed on your secondary storage drive. You will want to make sure it has been formatted because if it has a master boot record (part of operating system installation), it will confuse your computer. Wipe the secondary drive and you're good to go.

3.) RAID mode utilizes multiple hard drives depending on the RAID mode you select. For your purposes, you want to use AHCI mode so that it will use the SSD's onboard controller to maximize the speed of the drive. Also, buy the Samsung 830 from newegg right now, it's on sale for $90. Frickin ridiculous price: