Sign in with
Your question

New Computer

Last response: in Systems
May 1, 2010 9:02:20 PM

Hello,

I'm primarily a graphic artist, doing pre-press design, but I have a Canon GL1, and Premier (lower version, will upgrade soon) and am thinking about getting a new computer. I HATE the idea of buying a box computer and having to chuck the memory to up everything, so I've done a little research (not understanding at least half of what I read, mind you) and put together what I think will be a system that will really work well with my graphic arts, and not leave me beating my head when I play with videos of my horses.

My biggest question, is will all of the individual parts I've narrowed it down to work with each other (this will be my first computer build, although I've augmented mine in the past).

I'll be getting Windows 7 Pro, and we'll be upgrading to CS5 this summer. I'm either going to ask the boss if I can make up the difference to upgrade to the EVERYTHING CS package, or will upgrade Premier too. I will be going with 64 bit.

Looking at :
Intel i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66 GX quad
EVGA E758-A1 3-way SLI 1366 Intel X58 ATX
Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650w PSU
EVGA 512-P3-n871-AR GeForce 9800 512mb PCI express 2.0 HDCP Ready SLI video card

A WD VelociRaptor 150 GB 10,000 RMP for my program drive, and am working on choosing 2 more hard drives, probably 2T 7200.

I know the MB has one SATA RAID slot, but I know nothing about raid, could use some instructions on how that works, to determine if I should work towards that.

Will these components all play together???

Picked a big case: Cooler Master CM690, sounds like it will hold everything and more and run cool enough. I don't game, so I don't think I'll need more cooling, is that correct?

One last question, the hard drives come "bare" what cables do I need to order to go with them? Are they different to set up RAID?