New to HTPC- Recommendations please?

daytona_jae

Distinguished
May 2, 2010
Hi,

I've been building my own PCs for the past 18 years or so but am new to HTPC building.
I put together a wish list on Newegg that from my research, should fit the bill nicely. However, as I am new to this type of system build, I would really appreciate any recommendations to the parts I have listed here...

My priority is to be able to play 1080p content onto my flatscreen TV via HDMI. I would like for my video and audio to be pumped through the HDMI into my HT Receiver. I'd like for it to be as low profile as possible so I chose to go with a MicroATX form factor MB and PSU.

I will NOT be gaming on this PC, at most, email and light web surfing along with HTPC duties.

My sources will be iTunes and Windows Media Center via Windows 7. I have a NAS for storage that runs iTunes Server as well as does my backups and serves as my general file and media storage. So storage in the HTPC itself doesn't need to be huge. Although I am considering a small SSD as a boot drive for faster bootup times, as I don't plan on leaving this on all the time, only when I want to watch or listen to my media.

This list does not include keyboard/mouse/case as I already have those.

Is any of this overkill and can be downgraded to save on costs? I have no idea what is the minimum CPU needed to play 1080p video...

Same with upgrades, any components that you feel should be upgraded for what I would like to do?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO AM3 AMD 785G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
Model #:M4A785TD-M EVO
$89.99

OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model OCZ3P1333LV4GK
$109.99

AMD Athlon II X2 250 Regor 3.0GHz Socket AM3 65W Dual-Core Processor Model ADX250OCGQBOX
Model #:ADX250OCGQBOX
Item #:N82E16819103681
$64.99

Western Digital Caviar Green WD5000AADS 500GB SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive -Bare Drive
Model #:WD5000AADS
$54.99