Graphics card freezes computer upon loading

Status
Not open for further replies.

monchan

Distinguished
Apr 5, 2010
I have a Clevo Desktop Replacement (D901c/NP9262) that I've been using for about two to three years. Recently, I've been using windows 7 as my OS... That is until, my little bro deleted some system files and caused a whole bunch of wack to occur.
As pissed as I was, I decided to simply reinstall windows 7; easy. Everything goes well and I have a clean install of my windows 7 again. I load my desktop and download all the drivers and programs I need.
Now here comes to problem: As usual, I go to Nvidia and download the newest driver for video cards. After installing, I restart my computer, just to find out that my whole computer now freezes after I log in.
I know for a fact that it's my video card that's giving me trouble. I've tried reinstalling windows 7 again, applying updates, tried older drivers, and I've also tried deleting other programs (to make sure they don't conflict). I can also run safe mode and load up to the login screen fine, so I know it's my GPU... I just don't know how to fix it. Any suggestions? Sorry for the long question.

Solution
I've read and heard various things about that:

10-15 minutes at 300-400 degrees, pre-heated...
That it's best roll up aluminum foil and place it at the edges so it elevates the card off the cookie sheet...
To place it directly on the oven rack...

The info seems to vary some, but it's out there. Try Youtube. I've seen some videos there. I actually saw one recently where a guy successfully baked his GTX280.

arges86

Distinguished
try older drivers...
i have win7 & the latest drivers (197.13) and haven't had any issues. Make sure you got all windows updates installed before you install the graphics card drivers...
Win7 will install some GPU drivers, but they'll prob. be out of date.

monchan

Distinguished
Apr 5, 2010