Computer hasn't worked for 3 years...

G

I have always looked to forums to try to fix my computer, but I’ve never actually asked for help. Well, I’ve been wrangling with my computer for the past three years, and I’m about ready to do almost anything to fix it. It’s specs are:
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Processor - 2.40GHz, 8MB Cache, 1066MHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8600 GTS, 512MBGDDR3, PCI Express, SLI Ready
Memory: OCZ Reaper Dual Channel 2048MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz Memory (2 x 1024MB)
Motherboard: EVGA nForce 680i SE SLI
Power Supply: 600-Watt
Okay. Here’s the saga:
I made this computer in my sophomore year of high school, and now I’m a senior. I only ever used it for about a year. Basically, it started BSODing on me with the error “driver_irql_not_less_or_equal.” I searched for months on the internet and no matter how many people had the exact same problem as me, none of their fixes worked. I eventually got frustrated and took it into microcenter. They “fixed” it, but not really. I took it in again. They “fixed” it, but it just started coming back with different BSOD errors. Eventually, it began freezing every time I had music and anything else running simultaneously – no matter how small the operation was. Windows Media Player and Starcraft would crash my computer. I decided to reinstall vista and hope for the best.
That didn’t work either. My brother wanted to install Ubuntu, so I let him have a crack at that. Midway through, my computer decided it couldn’t properly format its hard drive, and I was left with no functional OS on it.