Sign in with
Your question

Motherboard/CPU Compatibility Question

Last response: in Systems
May 4, 2010 3:43:59 AM

Hey all, first time poster.

I am a CS student embarking on a side project his summer involving testing some multi-core programming theories I have, and I have come to the conclusion that I can't test several of them without a quad-core processor. I don't have the cash right now for a system overhaul, so I am looking to just replace my Core 2 dual-core with a Core 2 quad-core. Problem is, the current line of Core 2 quad-cores all have a 1333 fsb, and my board (a ga-p965-ds3 rev 1.3) only supports up to a 1066 fsb. I was going to buy a Q6600, but I'm having the darndest time finding one in stock anywhere, and a E8300 would cost me about 70 bucks less anyway.

So my question is whether or not I could drop an E8300 on my board and have it work, perhaps by underclocking the CPU. I found several threads on this topic in the context of the Q6600 vs. the E6550/6750/6850 from several years ago, but many of the posts seem contradictory, and I don't trust my knowledge of this stuff enough to come to a conclusion myself. I don't really feel like dropping a hundred and fifty bucks on what may turn out to be a paperweight.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.
May 4, 2010 3:50:16 AM

I believe that, if I do recall, the Core 2 Quad should work just fine in your computer, it just won't run at the full FSB speed, at the very least you could contact Gigabyte and check to see if a specific processor will work.

I would not however, drop in another dual core processor. Do Quad or nothing really, but I don't see any problems with adding a quad on your board. But like I said contact gigabyte to make sure.
m
l
a b B Homebuilt system
May 4, 2010 6:22:57 AM

Or you could always part out what you have now and use that plus the money you already have for a AM3 quad system.
m
l
Related resources
May 4, 2010 8:46:24 AM