Sign in with
Your question
Solved

I'm getting an SSD, but I'm really new to the technology

Last response: in Storage
June 16, 2012 5:59:39 PM

Hi, as the title says, I'm thinking of getting the Intel 520 Series 60Gb SSD:
http://ark.intel.com/products/66247/Intel-SSD-520-Serie...(60GB-2_5in-SATA-6Gbs-25nm-MLC)
I know, it's really low on space. But I need the performance for gaming.

I have several questions regarding this:
1. Is it compatible with my current system? Here is my rig:
- Motherboard, ASUS M4A77TD.
- GPU, Nvidia GeForce GTX570.
- Processor, AMD Phenom II X6 1100T.
- RAM, Corsair 8GB.
- PSU, Corsair CX600.
- HDD, I forgot what's my current HDD. Probably a WD. But VERY old (2008).
- Casing, Fractal Design 3000.
2. Is installing SSD is the same as installing any HDD device? Just put the two related plugs on the SSD?
3. Still related to #2, once I installed the SSD, will I have to set anything? Or just boot up, and goes walaa? Do keep in mind, I'm not planning to partition the SSD.
4. Will I enjoy a performance boost even if I don't set the SSD as the system drive? I'm planning to fill the SSD full of heavy games only.
5. Still related to #4, is it safe to use my old HDD as the system drive, and the new SSD as the data drive with only games files in it?

I really appreciate any help. Thanks in advance. :) 

More about : ssd technology

Best solution

a c 154 G Storage
June 16, 2012 6:27:15 PM

1. Yes, it is compatible.
2. Yes, just like any sata hard drive.
3. Some posters will list a number of ssd tweaks, but I say ignore them. Just install the ssd and enjoy; it is much simpler.
4. Maybe. A ssd will be 2-3x faster in sequential i/o, and 50x faster in random. Game startup and level loads will be a bit quicker. Really, though, the best use for a ssd is for the os which does lots of random i/o.
5. Yes, safe and reasonable.

Some other things: