Sign in with
Your question

Question About Power Supply and Case

Last response: in Systems
May 4, 2010 3:45:10 PM

This is my first build. I'm taking things slowly as I want a high end machine.

I have already purchased a COOLER MASTER ATCS 840 RC-840-KKN1-GP Black Aluminum
ATX Full Tower Computer Case. See url.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

I am looking at a modular power supply for a bottom mount and I need to make sure
the cables are long enough as this is a very large case.

The power supply that I am looking at is a: Ultra X4 1050-Watt Modular Power Supply - 135mm Fan, ATX, Lifetime Warranty, 80+ Silver, NVIDIA SLI & ATI Crossfire Certifications. See Url.
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/ite...

I'm leaning towards a Evga ATX Intel Motherboard but haven't really decided on that
yet. I thought the EVGA E760 CLASSIFIED "Overclocker's Pick" 3-Way SLI + PhysX 1366 Intel X58 EATX Intel Motherboard but it's pretty big and pricey. I don't know if it will fit in the case. But I sure like some of the features on it.

As I said taking things slowly. But I need a power supply as my next step. I would
appreciate anyone's input.

Thanks in advance.

May 4, 2010 3:51:25 PM

The first thing to point out is that PSU isn't a great choice. You don't need that much power. Stick to the major brands (Corsair, Antec, SeaSonic, Silverstone) or other proven units. Another thing to point out is that you don't need a modular unit for a bottom mounted case. In fact, I usually don't recommend it unless the efficiency is a lot higher, as you're paying for the same cable management feature twice (the bottom mounted case and the modular cables).

It would help to know what GPU you're planning on using, as that will determine how big of a PSU you need.