Sign in with
Your question

Photoshop Desktop or Laptop?

Last response: in Systems
May 4, 2010 8:50:36 PM

First of all I want to say thanks for taking the time to read this, it's definitely appreciate it. I am a student at the Art Institute and most of the computers that we work on are Macs. I am majoring in Film Design and utilize a lot of different programs Photoshop/Final Cut /Maya etc.. I currently have a PC at home and have never owned a Mac. The lingo here is that Macs are designed to handle these programs better than PCs. My computer literacy is pretty high but as far as a good advise and future proofing myself.. Is it better that I build a home PC computer or go with a MacBook Pro? My budge is around $3000 which is a good amount of money and I want to be really smart before pulling the trigger on either.
I have to say I do enjoy gaming a lot on the side and definitely don't want to lock myself with something I can't do that with.
Thanks for your time.
May 4, 2010 9:38:58 PM

For your intended use and budget I would say a homebuilt PC would certainly be the best option. You're not going to be doing much gaming on a MacBook Pro. Your budget allows for a very high-end build around something like an Intel i7 930 that would blow a MacBook Pro out of the water.
m
l
May 4, 2010 10:44:46 PM

Thanks. I think I am going to go with a home built PC.
m
l
Related resources
May 4, 2010 10:46:07 PM

If you provide us with all the information in the "How to ask for new build advice" sticky at the top of the forum we can come up with a build optimized to your intended use and budget.
m
l
May 4, 2010 11:42:24 PM

Quote:
The lingo here is that Macs are designed to handle these programs better than PCs.