toolmaker_03

Honorable
Mar 26, 2012
hello out there I was wondering how much success anyone has had with the Intel 520 series SSD as a boot drive for the win 7 OS?

I am new to the SSD idea and have never tried it so all info is greatly appreciated.

would also like to know about the setup for a performance array on this type of drive and if it works right?
do you still need a A drive to setup a array for the system if the array is the boot drive for the win 7 OS?

Solution
For just $20 More, you could have gotten the 256 gig Curcial M4 - evey bit as good as the 520.
in my oppion, and in this case a "2nd 128 Gigs" for only $20 would have more than made up for any diff.
When you move up in size, the performance increases, that is a 256 gig SSD brand X will run faster than it's smaller 128 gig brother from Brand X.

On Raid0, Not a lover of, when it comes to SSDs. Currently you loss trim suport (although Intel should be coming out with a fix in the near term).
Raid0 provides a big boost to Sequencial performance, BUT this is only important when working with LARGE data files. Sequencial performance is the least important parameter for a OS + Program drive.
In all 4 of my systems with daul SSDs, I prefer...
i have asus z77 sabertooth wiht 8g of ram and the intel 520 as the windows boot drive..take about 20 sec from cold boot to me surfing the web. web is a lot faster then a standard drive. install is easy on a new mb. you just unplug the data drive so that windows boot cd or usb stick only see the ssd. it makes the recovery partion and main partion...reboots and all you have to do is install the drivers for your mb/vidoe card/net cards and sound. just make sure your sata ports are in achi mode not ide mode.

toolmaker_03

Honorable
Mar 26, 2012