Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Installing OCZ Agility 2 120gb SSD on MSI 790FX-GD70

Last response: in Motherboards
January 19, 2011 1:52:23 PM

So I just installed my new 120 GB OCZ Agility 2 SSD in my pc to my MSI 790FX-GD70 motherboard. I plugged that drive into SATA port 1 and my other 250 GB mechanical drive in SATA port 3. I'm an amateur at best when it comes to building PC's so I want to make sure I did this right. I've got my bios set to AHCI. I've read about these needing to be plugged into the sata ports on the south bridge, but I'm not really sure if that includes ports 1 and 3. Also I'm getting a message right after my BIOS posts that I wasn't before. It's saying something about J-Micron and "no drives are found". That is what was making me think maybe I had them plugged into the wrong ports. The drives is working fine and is *fast* although I haven't benched it, yet. I am going to use AS SSD Benchmark unless somebody knows of a better program. Any help would be greatly appreciated and I apologize for the amateur nature of my explanation.
January 22, 2011 12:46:37 PM

I benched it w/ AS SSD and my writes were okay (190 mb/s) but my reads were much lower than advertised (100 mb/s.) I'm away from my home PC right now. When I get there I'll post the screen shot of the benchmark. I know its advertised to read and write around 250 mb/s and I wasn't expecting those exact numbers, but mine seem pretty low. Anybody have some insight into this?
m
l
Related resources
a c 1111 V Motherboard
January 22, 2011 1:14:16 PM

Sata ports 1-6 are on the southbridge. 7 and 8 are on the J-micron controller, you can disable that in bios if you are not using it.
m
l
January 28, 2011 11:46:43 PM

thanks, I'll be doing that.
m
l
February 7, 2011 4:45:31 PM