Looking for recommendations on AMD platform for VMware ESXi host

mhult

Distinguished
Jul 13, 2010
I want recommendations on a suitable platform for an ESXi server that I am building. While I think that core i7 is a superb platform (I have that for my desktop PC), I thought I'd save some money by going for AMD on this machine.

Also, I just built gaming rigs for my kids with Athlon II X3 435, Asus M4A78LT-M LE, 4GB RAM and GTX465, all of which works great. I tested ESXi on that platform and it seems OK, but since I am new to ESXi, i really have nothing to compare it to.

The ESXi host will be used for two to four virtual Linux and Windows Server 2008 R2 machines. One Linux server will be for production (home server with lots of storage), while the Windows servers will be lab machines used for training and testing of various MS stuff, like the System Center product line.

So my requirements are as follows:

* Support for four cores (X6 not needed, since free ESXi doesn't run on more that four cores.
* Four memory slots
* Six SATA 3Gb/s ports
* Two PCI slots for Intel NICs (ESXi can't use the on-board stuff)
* Basic on-board video (will only be used once, and in text mode!)
* As fast memory and disk access as possible.

Shopping around on various tech sites and online stores, I came up with this:

* Asus M4A785T-M
* Phenom II X4 945
* 2 x Corsair 4GB DDR3 XMS3 (2x 2GB), (8 GB total)

While the Athlon II X3 435 wasn't a particular bottleneck in my tests, I think it might make sense to move up to Phenom for an ESXi host. I would be willing to spend more on the motherboard if it increases memory and disk throughput. Any other motherboard features are not interesting for this machine. I will not be doing any overclocking or core unlocking, since stability is an absolute priority.