Sign in with
Your question

Powercolor 5870 with Artefacts, can they be Fixed by an overclock??

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
April 9, 2010 9:03:05 AM

Hi All,

Im a complete newbie so forgive me if I sound dumb,

I have a powercolor 5870 whic I bought at an auction of returns, I paid like £210 thinkin that was cheap

I was told to test it as I was thinkin about purchasing to sell on, I downloaded the Catalyst Drivers (driver only 30mb from amd.ati) and the ATITOOL to test the card, when I test the card firstly on the ATITOOL there is no output for the (core) Temperature of the card and secondly when you click on Test for Artifacts, my Pink cube starts turning Yellow with artifacts.

It boots into windows ok and everything looks ok.

Is there any way to save these cards?

Im sure I read somewhere that it might be possible to Fix this issue by overclocking the card, Is this true and If it is How do I do it?

Is it driver related, or hardware related justo confirm (Im guessing its Faulty Hardware)

Laugh Now as I have seen a video on YouTube saying you can fix Faulty Graphics Cards By Baking them in the oven at 200 degrees for 10 minutes, is this true or just a load of B/S?

Kind Regards Scamp
April 9, 2010 9:41:47 AM

That pink cube should look more like a fur-covered cube, and it shouldn't change colors at all. It's a bad card.

There's usually no easy way to save a card. Only a few parts on a card can even be replaced. Return it and get your money back.

As for the card baking thing... As best I know it works on "some" cards from nVidia in "some" cases. I've never heard of anyone baking an ATI card, though.
a b K Overclocking
April 9, 2010 12:15:31 PM