Sign in with
Your question

Hard drive suddenly not detected in BIOS, "Operation system not found"

Last response: in Storage
June 21, 2012 11:59:34 AM

Hello, i'm new to tom's hardware, and i hope the community will kindly help to solve my current problem ^_^.

Before i go on any further, i'd like to point out that i am no computer "genius", i am merely a beginner.
Yes, there are many people with this problem, and yes, i have searched on google and have read countless of threads in forums. Alas, none of the threads i've read helped me with this problem, even if it's similar to theirs. Since i'm a beginner as stated before, most of the time when reading i do not understand what they're saying, it seems a bit complicated to me.

Anyways, straight to the point. About 2 days ago i was on my bed, nothing unusual, surfing YouTube like anyone else would do. Then, all of a sudden, everything started to freeze. Since it was about 12am and i was tired, i simply ignored it and proceeded to turn my laptop off (holding the power button) then went to sleep. The next day when i turned on my laptop, an error would come up saying "Operation System not found".

My laptop is a Sony Vaio, windows 7, i5, 4gb ram, and a 500gb HDD (There are 2 HDDs which adds up to 500gb, i don't know the manufacturer. I've recently had my old HDD replaced so these 2 HDDs are pretty new, about 3-4 months old. I wouldn't expect it to be broken.