Newbie Help for Power Supply and Motherboard connection

Status
Not open for further replies.

glom

Distinguished
Jul 14, 2010
Hello,

This is my first time building a computer. I have the following system components'

1. Gigabyte X58A-UD5
2. Intel i7 920
3. Antec 900 2 Case
4. Power Supply 650W
5. Corsair SSD 60 GB Vertex 2
6. Hitachi 1 TB HDD 32 MB cache 7200 rpm
7. G skill Ripjaws 6GB (2x3)
8. Corsair H50 CPU cooler
9. Geforce 9500 GT PCI Express 1 GB

I have some questions which should be very easy for anyone to answer who has ever built a computer.

1. On the motherboard there are two ports for connecting power, ATX and ATX_12_2X. Do I connect both of them to the Power Supply or just the ATX?? ATX_12_2X has 8 pins.

2. Antec case has about 4 fans which I plan to connect directly to the power supply as they already have a speed regulator with them. On my previous system, the fans had 4 pins which could go in the 4 pin molex connector from the power supply.

However, with these fans they pop in the molex connector but on their other sides, there are 4 empty sockets.......I wanted to attach a picture but for some reason, I cannot attach a picture from my local hard drive but can only give a Http link to that picture.....I wonder why is that.

Are the 4 empty sockets on the other side of the connector to power another device like a two way molex or what??

3. There are a lot of cables from the power supply coming out which are labelled PCI 16X, PCI 8X but there is no socket on the motherboard nor the manual where these cables can fit. What is the purpose of these cables.
This motherboard powers all the PCI slots from the main circuit.

4. The motherboard is Revision 1.0. Should I update the BIOS or just leave it as it is.

Thanks a lot,
GLOM.

Solution