FSX Computer - On the hunt

onthescopes

Distinguished
Jul 15, 2010
Hello,

I am an absolute computer newb. I really don't have the time to learn about processors, graphic cards, memory, etc. Can someone link me to a system that will run FSX well, costing between 800 and 1,300 dollars on Newegg or another website? Thank you. If I can figure out how to overclock it, I guess I'll do that eventually

For FSX I think a quad core x4 955@ 3.2Ghz or X4 965 @ 3.4Ghz would perform better than a hex core X6 1055T @ 2.8Ghz everything else being equal.
On the other hand the price difference between the X4 965 and X6 1055T is only $10 on the IBuyPower website.
Since you are open to overclocking and the X4 965 & X6 1055T overclock nicely you should feel good choosing either one.

What resolution monitor will you be using? A useful option might be going with the X4 955 and choosing the HD 5850.

FSX can be multi core enabled, and it is very compute intensive. In general, the Intel offerings will do better in that environment compared to amd.
That said, I suggest you look at some of the FSX forums to get feedback from actual users.

When you come up with what you think are good specs, get another quote from Ibuypower and post them here. I suspect that on a high end PC you can save considerable $ by assembling it yourself.

meant this POST ^+1

arthurh

Distinguished
Dec 28, 2002

The statement "run FSX well" is relative to what you expect comparaed to what I might think as "run FSX well".

I too like FSX and built a PC with that in mind when FSX came out. That sim does seem to like Intel CPUs better than AMD thou they both will play the sim and the results may be just fine for you with an AMD CPU.

I have played FSX on both and currently run a Q9550 OC'd to 4Ghz thou it is an old platform(775). I also use a Geforce graphics card model 250 GTS 1G as the sim does not need a really powerful grahics card to play well.